Clophill St Marys CofE lower school

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

At St. Mary's, we have two classes within the EYFS - Acorn Nursery and Chestnut Reception class. 

Acorn Nursery has it's own bespoke and fully resourced building, welcoming children from 2 years 7 months to 4 years.

Chestnut also has a purpose built classroom within our main school building. 

Both classes have their own outside areas where they continue to enjoy activities linked to each area of the curriculum.  

The EYFS curriculum for both of these classes is based on the EYFS Framework:

Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage

Seven areas of learning are taught across both Acorn and Chestnut.  These are:

Three Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Four Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

At St. Mary's, we teach the EYFS through six topics across a two year cycle:

Cycle 1 Cycle 2
Autumn Term Me and My World

Me and My World


Spring Term

People Who Help Us


Once Upon a Time
Summer Term Monkey Puzzle

Down On the Farm


 Within both Acorn and Chestnut, children are provided with both independent learning opportunities together with teacher led activities. 

The following booklet will also help parent/carers to find out more about how your child learns and develops during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS.


At the end of Reception, children are teacher assessed against the Early Learning Goals:

Early Learning Goals Parent and Carers Guide

The results of these assessments are shared with parents in our end of term reports. 

Starting school is a huge step.  Central Bedfordshire Council has also produced a handy '16 ticks' leaflet of things that parents/carers can do with their children to support them to be ready to start school: 

16 Ticks Leaflet