The School Governors

The governing body of the school is made up of representatives of the Church, the Diocese, the Local Education Authority, the Parish Council, the teaching staff, the support staff, the Head teacher and an elected parent governor.

Their duty is to be responsible for overseeing the running of the school.  On a day to day basis, this is the responsibility of the Headteacher and members of staff who report to the governors on the curriculum, the budget and standards within the school. The governors support and challenge the staff and are encouraged to make regular visits to the children during the school day.

The governors’ role is to ensure that the curriculum is broad and balanced, meets the requirements of the National Curriculum and includes religious education and collective worship.  They co-operate with the Headteacher to formulate and approve all school policies and consider the school development plan annually.

Now that the Education Authority has devolved more direct responsibility for the local management of schools to the governors, they have a responsibility to determine the school budget each year, considering the general running costs of the school such as staffing, equipment, heating and cleaning.

As a Voluntary Aided School the governors also have a financial responsibility to pay 1/10th of the cost of any building work carried out in the school.

The governors are happy to receive queries and questions from parents at any time therefore please telephone or email the school office who will put you in touch with the relevant governor.

Governors   2018-19

Mr B Jones Chair of Governors/Diocesan Board of Education (DBE) Governor
Mrs K Bingley Headteacher/ Ex-Officio
Mrs E Thoulass Vice Chair of Governors/ Parochial Church Council (PCC) Governor / Safeguarding, Looked After Children (LAC) and Special Educational Needs & Disabilities (SEND) Governor/  Treasurer
Vacancy Ex-Officio
Reverend J Wheatley Diocesan Board of Education (DBE) Governor
Mr T Caplan Local Authority Governor
Mrs C Deverill Parent Governor/ Health and Safety Governor
Mrs K Maxfield Parent Governor
Mr S Milne Parochial Church Council (PCC) Governor
Mrs A Gordon  Parochial Church Council (PCC) Governor / Safeguarding, Looked After Children (LAC) and Special Educational Needs & Disabilities (SEND) Governor
Mrs V Higgins Parochial Church Council (PCC) Governor
Mrs P Burraway Deputy Head Teacher
Mrs A Arnold Staff Governor
Mrs E Topliff Clerk to the Governors

Governor Body Structure – Including declaration of any interests

2018-19 Governing Body structure


Governor Blog/ Letters

Letter from Governors to Parents 190719

Governor Blog 24.05.19

Governor Blog 210319

Governors Blog Jan31 2019

Governing Body Minutes of Meetings – for current Academic Year
(For past year’s minutes please contact Mrs Topliff)

Minutes – FGB 160519

Minutes – FGB 210319

Minutes- FGB 310119

Minutes – FGB 29.11.18

Minutes – FGB 11.10.18

Minutes – FGB 12 07 18